J. Nucl. Phy. Mat. Sci. Rad. A.

Distinguishing Features of Radioactive Compound Nucleus Decays within the Dynamical Cluster decay Model

Hemdeep, Sahila Chopra, Pooja Kaushal and Raj K. Gupta

  • Download PDF
  • DOI Number

Dynamical cluster-decay model; deformed non-coplanar fragments; non-compound nucleus effects; radioactive nuclei.

PUBLISHED DATE February 2018
PUBLISHER The Author(s) 2018. This article is published with open access at www.chitkara.edu.in/publications

In this paper, we are interested to study the distinguishing features of the decaying radioactive compound nuclei 246Bk* and 220Th*, using the Dynamical Cluster-decay Model (DCM) with deformation β and non-coplanar degree-of-freedom Φ. 246Bk* and 220Th* have so-far been studied within the DCM, using quadrupole deformations (β2i), “optimum” orientations (θopt) of the two nuclei lying in the same plane (Φ=0o), which shows that there is a non-compound nucleus (nCN) content in the observed data. The first turning point Ra (equivalently, the neck-length ∆R in Ra=R1+R2+∆R), which fixes both the preformation and penetration paths, is used to best fit the measured evaporation residue (ER) and fusion-fission (ff) cross sections, σER, σff, respectively, in 220Th* and 246Bk*, formed via different entrance channels. In this work, we subsequently add higher multipole deformations, the octupole and hexadecupole (β3i, β4i), `compact’ orientations θci and Φ≠00, and look for their effects on the nCN contribution predicted by the DCM calculations referenced above.

Page(s) 255–263
URL http://dspace.chitkara.edu.in/jspui/bitstream/123456789/706/1/001JNP_Hampdeep.pdf
ISSN Print : 2321-8649, Online : 2321-9289
DOI https://doi.org/10.15415/jnp.2018.52023
  • B. B. Singh, M. K. Sharma, and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 77, 054613 (2008). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.77.054613
  • R. K. Gupta and M. Bansal, Int. Rev. of Phys. (I.RE.PHY) 5, 74 (2011).
  • M. Bansal, Ph.D. Thesis, Panjab University, Chandigarh, (2012).
  • Hemdeep, S. Chopra, A. Kaur, and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 95, 014609 (2017). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.95.014609
  • R. K. Gupta, M. Manhas and W. Greiner, Phys. Rev. C 73, 054307 (2006). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.73.054307
  • C. C. Sahm, et al., Nucl. Phys. A 441, 316 (1985). https://doi.org/10.1016/0375-9474(85)90036-3
  • D. Vermeulen, et al., Z. Phys. A 318, 157 (1984). https://doi.org/10.1007/BF01413464
  • G. N. Knyazheva, et al., Phys. Rev. C 75, 064602 (2007). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.75.064602
  • D. A. Mayorov, et al., Phys. Rev. C 90, 024602 (2014). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.90.024602
  • P. Kaushal, S. Chopra, Hemdeep, and R. K. Gupta, Proceedings DAE-BRNS Symposium on Nucl. Phys. 62, 480 (2017).
  • R. K. Gupta, in Clusters in Nuclei, Lecture Notes in Physics 818, edited by C. Beck, Vol. I, (Springer Verlag, Berlin, 2010), pp. 223–265.
  • R. K. Gupta, R. Kumar, N. K. Dhiman, M. Balasubramaniam, W. Scheid, and C. Beck, Phys. Rev. C 68, 014610 (2003). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.68.014610
  • R. K. Gupta, M. Balasubramaniam, R. Kumar, N. Singh, M. Manhas, and W. Greiner, J. Phys. G: Nucl. Part. Phys. 31, 631 (2005). https://doi.org/10.1088/0954-3899/31/7/009
  • H. Kroeger and W. Scheid, J. Phys. G 6, L85 (1980). https://doi.org/10.1088/0305-4616/6/4/006
  • S. S. Malik and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 39, 1992 (1989). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.39.1992
  • N. J. Davidson, S. S. Hsiao, J. Markram, H. G. Miller, and Y. Tzeng, Nucl. Phys. A 570, 61c (1994). https://doi.org/10.1016/0375-9474(94)90269-0
  • M. Balasubramaniam, R. Kumar, R. K. Gupta, C. Beck, and W. Scheid, J. Phys. G: Nucl. Part. Phys. 29, 2703 (2003). https://doi.org/10.1088/0954-3899/29/12/003
  • G. Audi, A. H. Wapstra, and C. Thiboult, Nucl. Phys. A 729, 337 (2003). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nuclphysa.2003.11.003
  • P. Möller, J. R. Nix, W. D. Myers, and W. J. Swiatecki, At. Data Nucl. Data Tables 59, 185 (1995)
  • W. Myers and W. J. Swiatecki, Nucl. Phys. 81, 1 (1966). https://doi.org/10.1016/0029-5582(66)90639-0
  • S. Jensen and J. Damgaard, Nucl. Phys. A, 203, 578 (1973). https://doi.org/10.1016/0375-9474(73)90365-5
  • R. K. Gupta, N. Singh, and M. Manhas, Phys. Rev. C 70, 034608 (2004). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.70.034608
  • S. Chopra, M. Bansal, M. K. Sharma, and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 88, 014615 (2013). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.88.014615
  • M. Manhas and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 72, 024606 (2005). https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevC.72.024606